top of page

September is Gold.


PART 1

At the end of this month, I celebrate something I have been looking forward to for over 20 years, my GOLDEN birthday. The big 3-0. Not only has my golden birthday been this magical futuristic date set in my mind, but turning 30 (and the year that has led up to it) has been a personal challenge and growth uphill and downhill battle. Losing multiple friendships either by choice or incident, learning to stand up for myself (and how putting it into practice is the hardest thing I've ever done), trekking through the trenches and victories of motherhood, conquering fears, starting to feel slightly comfortable with this photography gig..... yes, this year leading up to 30 has molded me.

To honor this GOLDEN month for me, my last month of my 20's, turning 30, and everything related...I chose to do a self-portrait every day for the month of September leading up to my birthday. Why self-portraits? Because self-portraits are one of the scariest and most vulnerable things I can do for myself. Man, has this project been a roller coaster ride so far. I have never been more scared and excited about something at once and on a daily basis. Some days I just wasn't inspired and most days I had no idea what I was going to do. It's so strange the way your view of yourself changes when you allow yourself to be vulnerable and then you get to SEE the results. I can't say I have ever "loved" an image of myself really ever (except of when I was a baby because I was freaking ADORABLE). I now have a folder of hundreds of images of myself (hey who said I was limiting myself to just ONE a day? haha), and the way I see it is that now my children and my children's children now have actual evidence that I existed.

This is also my "legacy". I drool over photos of my grandmothers and my mom when they were young. I don't have very many. I could just stare at their faces all day long. I would give anything to know them at that age. What pissed them off? What made them so happy they could burst? What were their dreams? Photos are such important pieces of our story.

As this goes live, halfway through September, my project will not yet be completed! You get to have a glimpse of what was going to be sewn all together including all 30 images. Please enjoy what I have done so far. (Feel free to check back at the end of the month to see the rest!)

As you may know, I am honored to be included in a blog circle with some highly talented and creative artists. When you are done looking through please click on the next link that continues the circle through each artist's interpretation of the color "gold".

Please click HERE to continue with the circle and to see Shelby Leigh Photography's take on GOLD.

Mission Statement:

The Artists Inspired Blog Circle is made up of an exceptionally talented group of photographers from all walks of life, from all over the world. They are wives, mothers, friends, daughters and visual storytellers who draw from their own experiences to create art that is inspiring, unique, beautiful and thought-provoking.


Follow ASP

No tags yet.

Search By Tags

Recent Posts

Featured Posts

Blog

  • Social Buttons rose ig
  • Social Buttons rose  fb
  • Social Buttons rose g
  • Social Buttons rose  p
bottom of page