top of page

Announcing....

Some BIG things are changing here at Ashley Shope Photography! I have literally spent more than an entire year planning and preparing for these TWO big changes. So, brace yourselves...

Change number 1...

Yep. You read that right. For some of you this comes as a total shocker, and for others you know it is something I have been talking about for a while. I am not 100% excited about the move, if I am being totally honest with you. The biggest question asked is, "is this because of work?" and the answer is simply "no". This is because my husband is a planner and thinks things out thoroughly, it's because we will be closer to family, it's because it's practical, and has the potential to be pretty darn awesome. SO...to my current clients, you are wonderful and loved and will be missed so much. The move is not happening until summer '17 so there is still time to book a session with me.

But this brings me to change number 2....

The direction of my photography will be shifting to storytelling/documentary images. (lifestyle will be strictly reserved for mini sessions sprinkled here and there a few times a year)

And to go with the change, my name will also be changing! (bear with me as social media will take time to catch up to the change) Ashley Shope Photography will now be Roots to Nest Photographs.

The story behind the name has many layers. I LOVE all things birds and trees. Always have. I have always connected deeply with the idea of roots being symbolical for our beginnings. Roots are something that has established us and planted us. So that no matter what shakes us, our roots will be firm. They will provide us with the nourishment we need to give us strength. Roots can be many things in our lives but in many lives, roots are like our family. And from the roots we blossom and we rise and up top is our nest, it is our home. Our nest is where we get cozy, feel protected, where love is formed and where love grows. All this symbolizes LIFE. Real, raw, life.

As you can tell, my passion and excitement is REAL life. And I am ridiculously sentimental. I look over old photos daily. Yes, daily. Sometimes I am looking over more recent old photos like of the last few years and sometimes I am looking at photos of my childhood. To me, my mother is the best photographer I have ever known. I don't think she would even call herself that, but my mom put a lot of effort into documenting our childhood. My Nonnie (her mom) was the same way- always with a camera in her hand. There are a few of those "look at the camera and smile in pretty little outfits" pictures in my childhood stash. And don't get me wrong they are cute. However, the photos I cherish are the ones that show what my life was like as a child!

My goal is really to give you your memories in a tangible and shareable way. We live in an age where EVERYTHING is shared and phones have some pretty rockin' cameras attached. But honestly, if the photos aren't blurry then you were stuck with a phone in your hand, not fully present in the moments. And for all the other ones, you are missing in them. Look above at some of my favorite childhood photos, where is my mom? She is behind the camera. And I love her for that and I am so grateful she found the value in documenting our lives. But I want more of her. I crave more photos where she is in them.

Oh, Hi mom, there you are. Some of the only photos I have with you in them. And may I point out the the top right picture is the ONLY photo in existence of her breastfeeding (and it's with me!!).

This is why I am determined to give you and your children and your grandchildren the memories they deserve. Your grandchildren might look over the photos of their parents dressed in matching outfits, smiling and looking at the camera whilst surrounded by trees and greenery, but they will LAUGH when they see their parents as children running around the house in underwear and high heels with a burger hat on their heads. And they will CRY when they see their grandfather brushing their mother's hair ever so gently. They will experience EMOTION.

See, the generations behind us want to experience what life was like for their parents and grandparents. They want to relate to them. Our children will become parents one day and they will have children who cause them to stay up all night, bring them the most joy they have ever felt in their lives (and equally as much worry). And they will want reassurance. They will want guidance. They will want to see that their parents went through this too and survived. None of that comes from neatly ironed outfits, perfectly brushed hair, or everyone standing and smiling. It comes from the raw beauty of real life. These photos are the best legacy.

Thanks for hanging in there with me, I am not a writer so getting my words out there has been tough. As a thank you for reading all this and for being freaking amazing clients, I have something for you. From now until March '17, when you book a documentary session with me ("little visits" or "storybook") you will receive a gift from me. This gift will be randomly chosen between 10% off your session, 20% off your session, a 5x7 print, or a video slideshow of the pictures from your session. Your life right now is only a season, don't let it slip by.

Upcoming documentary session ideas:

1. Baking and decorating holiday cookies

2. Picking out a Christmas tree

3. Decorating your Christmas tree

4. Family dinner

P.s. Your season might not happen to be with kids but it is as equally as important! Documentary sessions are also perfect for couples, artisans, businesses/organizations, events, or whatever stage of life you are in!


Follow ASP

No tags yet.

Search By Tags

Recent Posts

Featured Posts

Blog

  • Social Buttons rose ig
  • Social Buttons rose  fb
  • Social Buttons rose g
  • Social Buttons rose  p
bottom of page