top of page

P-U-M-P-K-I-N, my favorite orange tradition

Do you know what I think of when I think of the color orange? Traditions. I am a *sucker* for traditions. Anything I can do to celebrate a tradition, I will.

So there's an obvious tradition centered around fall (which happens to be my favorite season) and that is pumpkin farms, pumpkin carving, pumpkin treats, pumpkin PUMPKIN PUMPKIN. Pumpkins until you start to look at that word and think what the hell kind of word is that.

We have some awesome pumpkin farms here in Texas, I know that not many people are so lucky to be able to go to something like a pumpkin farm. We have been doing it since before we even had kids!

Picture above from 2011 to prove it. I went ahead and dug out some favorites from the past years, and at the end are a few of my all time favorites because it is of MY childhood.

2015

2015

2015

2014

2014

2013

1988, me with my sisters and dad (I'm the cute one in the middle)

1988 me with my sisters

1989 me with my sisters and dad

1990 me with my sisters and dad. I was very grumpy I couldn't wear my shirt. And of course thank you MOM for always taking the pictures ;) If it looks to you like my mom wasn't there because she isn't in the photos this is a great reminder to get IN the photos with your traditions as well. This is one of the reasons I am always preaching about documentary style photography. I hold these old photos so so so dear to my heart. And there are a bunch where my mom is in them, but to look at the only ones I have of my favorite pumpkin traditions and not see her makes my heart sad! Maybe there are some still in her old photo books (ehem, mom) but I don't have them. Find a way to be in them. Set up your timer, ask somebody else to take the photo, hire a documentary photographer (yes, we would LOVE to photograph you all picking out and carving your pumpkins!)

CLICK HERE to see Making Beautiful Memories Photography's take on the color orange.

As always, The Artists Inspired Blog Circle is made up of an exceptionally talented group of photographers from all walks of life, from all over the world. They are wives, mothers, friends, daughters and visual storytellers who draw from their own experiences to create art that is inspiring, unique, beautiful and thought-provoking.


Follow ASP

No tags yet.

Search By Tags

Recent Posts

Featured Posts

Blog

  • Social Buttons rose ig
  • Social Buttons rose  fb
  • Social Buttons rose g
  • Social Buttons rose  p
bottom of page